2023/24

12 New Members Inducted to Hofstra's Mu Kappa Chapter of Gamma Theta Upsilon, the Geographic Honor Society April 29th 2024



This year's Mu Kappa inductees with Dr. Craig Dalton, Dr. Kari Jensen, Mu Kappa President Julian Rocha, and Mu Kappa Vice President Natalie Correa.

The Department of Global Studies and Geography inducted 12 new students to GTU and invited past initiates and graduating seniors from the department of global studies and geography for a ceremony and lunch held at the University Club. The ceremony's keynote speaker was Dr. Veronica Akinyi Lippencott, Adjunct Associate Professor of Global Studies and Geography, Director of Africana Studies, and Associate Director of the Center for "Race". Culture and Social Justice.

Mu Kappa President Julian Rocha ('24) and Vice President Natalie Correa ('24) led the ceremony and welcomed the following new 12 inductees:

Iman O. Adeobafemi Nuranialie Outar

Yashika Dalal James Cameron Elwell

Leivys Maria Garcia Madelyne Greenberg

Laika Jerome Kerrie C. Heeralall

Olivia Catherine Malinowski Zainab Mozawalla

Lauren Tocci Molly K. Starczewski

Additionally, geography major Genevieve McCormick '25 was announced as the



2024-25 recipient of the Masaharu G. Inaba Endowed Memorial Scholarship. Donated by the Inaba family in memory of the late Dr. George Inaba, who taught geography at Hofstra from 1959-1983, this scholarship is awarded annually to global studies or geography majors.

GSGEOG Chair Dr. Grant Saff, Genevieve McCormick '25 and Mu Kappa President Julian Rocha '24

Dr. Kari Jensen, who founded the Hofstra chapter in 2012 and has served on the board of Mu Kappa ever since, said it was a "delight" to conduct the induction ceremony with Julian Rocha and fellow officer Natalie Correa. "They are both graduating with geography degrees this semester and have landed graduate scholarships at UC Berkeley and University of Wisconsin, Madison, respectively. My colleague, Dr. Lippencott, gave an excellent keynote speech about her personal journey into the academic discipline of geography and what it has meant in her life," she said.



Dr. Kari Jensen and Mu Kappa VP Natalie Correa '24



Keynote Speaker Dr. Veronica Lippencott

The first chapter of GTU was founded in 1928 at Illinois State Normal University. It became a national organization in 1931 and an international geographic honor society in 1949.

Since its establishment at Hofstra, Mu Kappa has been awarded the prestigious Gamma Theta Upsilon Honors Chapter Award six times. The award recognizes the scholarship of Hofstra's geography students, as well as activities that celebrate and bring awareness of geography to the University's campus and community. Membership in Mu Kappa now stands at 211.

Mu Kappa, in partnership with the Department of Global Studies and Geography, organizes Geography Awareness Week every November. The organization also invites department alumni back to campus. Recently, **Tempe Staples '16**, research and evaluation coordinator at the Coalition for a Healthy Greater Worcester and a visiting professor at Assumption University, returned to Hofstra to meet with students.



GSGEOG Students, Dr. Jensen & Tempe Staples '16

Our local chapter, **Mu Kappa**, was founded by Kari Jensen in the spring of 2012. On six occasions, Mu Kappa has been awarded the prestigious Gamma Theta Upsilon Honor Chapter Award, that recognizes our work in enhancing the scholarship of our geography students and for planning activities that celebrate and bring awareness of geography to the Hofstra campus and community. Since 2012, 211 students and faculty have been initiated into Gamma Theta Upsilon by our Mu Kappa chapter.